Manabe, Hasselmann and Parisi win the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics


Scientists Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi won the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics for their “groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems,” the awarding body said on Tuesday.

“Complex systems are characterized by randomness and disorder and are difficult to understand,” the Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement. “This year’s award recognizes new methods of describing them and predicting their long-term behavior.”

Manabe, 90, has American nationality. Parisi is Italian and Hasselmann is German.

The prestigious prize is worth 10 million Swedish kronor ($ 1.15 million).

Physics is the second Nobel Prize awarded this week after Americans David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian won the Medicine Prize on Monday for the discovery of receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch. Read more

The Nobel Prizes were created at the will of Swedish inventor and dynamite businessman Alfred Nobel and have been awarded since 1901 with only a handful of interruptions, mainly due to the two world wars.

Like last year, there will be no banquet in Stockholm due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The winners will receive their medals and diplomas in their country of origin. Read more

The announcement of the physics prize will be followed in the coming days by the chemistry, literature, peace and economics prizes.

Among Nobel Prizes, physics has often taken center stage, with awards often going to major advances in our understanding of the universe. Previous winners include Albert Einstein and the husband and wife team of Pierre Curie and Marie Curie.

Last year, scientists Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez won the Nobel Prize in Physics for their discoveries regarding black holes.

Source link


Leave A Reply